Print and Play Boardgames

I’ve bought a couple of items from Wargame Downloads in the past, but have not had the chance to try most of them. Unternehmung 25 and Malaya (both freebies) seem rather good for postcard-type games. I’m keen to try Solitaire Caesar (because of the topic, and to compare with Fall of Rome). I also have Vietnam Solitaire, Switzerland Must be Swallowed and Baptism at Bardia. Markus Stumptner and Chris Harding have tried the latter and tell me that it’s probably not worth the effort. There are a number of Schultze Games titles for download (Fall of France and one I hadn’t seem before – Eureka Stockade – the first wargame set in Australia?).

The quality of the game that is downloaded is of course unknown, but then it’s the same for anything that you buy off the shelf (though some judicious checking of the BGG ratings may help).  In theory the commercially-published game should be better tested, much seems to get released that is decidedly under-cooked.

I was trawling through Drivethru RPG looking for some traveller RPG material when I found a number of pleasant surprises. Amongst the Traveller stuff are four boardgames available for download: Fifth Frontier War, Dark Nebula, Azhanti High Lightning and Imperium. The first and last of these I own, and AHL I remember fondly playing in high school. Into the cart it popped and I continued browsing the e-aisles.

Noticing that ‘board games’ were offered undr product type, I soon abandoned my Traveller-looking operations and wandeed to different pastures. Much of the material proved to be from Guild of Blades (and thus of poor quality) or from Lock ‘n Load (which may or may not be fine but at this point not of interest). I was surprised therefore when GDW’s Russo-Japanese War (which includes both their Port Arthur and Tsushima titles). Into the cart it went too. Also among the boardgames lurked Belter. Of less interest, it remained out of the cart (though looking on BGG I see that there are solitaire rules for it…. hmmmm).

Sadly the work of printing components and mounting the counters mean that these tend to move continually to the back of the play cue. Hopefully some of these will appear on the table in the near future.

Leave a Reply

